Squashing the Stigma on Mental Illness

Image

One of my missions on this blog is to help people.  There are lots of causes that are near and dear to my heart (I’ll be posting on these from time to time), but one that has hit home in a very real way for my family is mental illness.  

I actually have been pondering this post for a while, I want to shed some light on this subject and show the world, (or at least my world of followers) that mental illness is not something to be ashamed of.  I, like many women, have dealt with my share of problems in life, however during my pregnancy with the baby I began to be unable to control my emotions.  The long story short, I was diagnosed with postpartum depression.  

I have always been one who wants to be in control, this diagnosis felt like it was out of my control.  I knew I needed to do what I needed to do, and getting on anti-depressants made a world of difference.  I was starting to feel like maybe I would be able to deal with taking meds if it meant finally being “stable”.  I was learning to cope with my diagnosis, even embrace it to some extent knowing going through this gave me a voice of experience to help others.

When I had Miss Brianna, I was told I needed to watch my moods, and that I may have to increase my medication.  I was fine for a while, but soon I realized while the meds were helping some, they were not helping anywhere near what they had been.  Increasing my dose, I again felt like I was out of control.  It took a week or 2 to even out, but I finally started to feel back in control.  I relaxed and got into a routine going from taking care of 1 child to 2. 

Nothing could have prepared me for what happened next.  About a month ago, I started experiencing much worse swings.  They were happening more often, and sometimes several in 1 day.  I knew I didn’t like the feeling, and I knew my family deserved better from me.  I needed to get help.

This is a To Be Continued post, as I am still in the middle of treatment for all of this.  I will be starting therapy on Thursday, and I will be meeting with a psychiatrist in June to find out what meds I need to be on.  It is a very scary time for me.  Mental Illness has a stigma that goes with it, people are afraid of what they don’t understand.  I want to tell everyone, mental illness or disorders are just like diabetes, or epilepsy, they require treatment, but one you have the right treatment, you CAN live a productive life. 

If you are experiencing signs of depression, anxiety, mood swings or hopelessness PLEASE know you are not alone.  Others have and are going through the same thing.  There is NOTHING wrong with asking for help!  You deserve to be the best, version of yourself you can be.  Please don’t be afraid seek help!!!

I will be updating everyone as I get an actual diagnosis and treatment plan.  So, for now this post is…

To Be Continued…

15 thoughts on “Squashing the Stigma on Mental Illness

  1. Thank you for your openness and honesty. Mental illness is so very real and needs to be taken seriously by society. {{prayers}}

  2. Thank you for sharing your personal story. I am sure that it was difficult to write this post, but you should be commended for doing so. I know that your story will be helpful to many readers who are experiencing similar feelings and emotions post-pregnancy. Stay strong. I look forward to reading your next update!

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Ways to Relax | The Adventures of "But Mom"

  4. Thank you for sharing. The fact that you are able to talk about it is great. This hits home for me. I had it after my daughter, and I didn’t even realize. What a dark time it was, I felt so alone. It wasn’t extreme, and it went away, but looking back I can recognize what it was. That was seven years ago, and when I had my son in 2012 I was scared. But I made sure to admit to my family that I had it before and to watch for the signs. But it didn’t come back thank God. I feel for moms suffering with it so bad. Good luck, I hope they get it under control for you soon. xo

    • Thank you. So sorry you had to go through that by yourself. It can be very scary, especially if you don’t understand it. Glad you didn’t have to go through it again though 🙂

Leave a Reply

