Rainy Days SUCK!!!!

Image

Now, I know there are those of you who are gonna immediately wish to disagree with me here, and that is fine.  First, here me out, you might realize I’m right.

I use to LOVE the rain.  The sound, the smell the rhythmic way it can lull you to sle- oh who am I kidding?  Those were all wonderful things about the rain BEFORE I had kids.  Since having kids, rainy days suck.  I woke up this morning, wishing it could be one of those nice mornings when I could go back to sleep and sleep-in, the sound (or what I could hear of it through a fussy 4 month old) was for sure relaxing, but motherhood calls. 

These are my top 5 reasons Rainy Days Suck

  1. They make you tired, sluggish, and just wanna chill.  This was great when I didn’t have my little ones, even when my toddler was super young, now, I drag myself out into the living room and watch as my toddler spins circles around me… sheesh!!!
  2. This brings me to my 2nd point which is toddlers have waaay to much energy to be cooped up in the house all day.  Rainy days make for cranky kids, that makes for cranky mommy.
  3. I have not run into THIS problem myself, but, I know I will.  Canceling plans your child was looking forward to due to rain can make them even crankier.  Crankier kids = Mommy is going INSANE!!!
  4. This one has 2 parts.  Going out in the rain.  Toddlers wanna splash in the puddles, mom & dad just wanna get in the car and get going.  This is just a set-up for major meltdowns (from all involved).  Mom & Dad get upset because kids wanna play, kids get upset because they wanna play and mom & dad won’t let them.  Ugh.
  5. This goes along with #4 Getting stuck in an unexpected rain.  You know what I’m talking about, you’re at the park, enjoying a cloudy (but beautiful) day.  All of the sudden you feel the first couple of drops.  You start to think maybe it really isn’t raining, then all of the sudden DOWNPOUR!!! Now again, mom & dad are soaked and wanting to get out of the rain, kids wanna play in the rain.  DISASTER!!!

All that being said, rainy nights mean early bedtimes and relaxed kiddos.  Can it just rain at night from now on???

Can you relate to this???  What is your favorite and least favorite part of rainy days???

4 thoughts on “Rainy Days SUCK!!!!

  1. Wet socks suck, ruined hair you spent 20 minutes straightening sucks, feeling lazy and tired when you’ve got stuff to do sucks, lugging 5 kids out in the rain sucks, an autistic/nearly blind child with rain on her glasses sucks (not the child, of course, but the freak out situation). Cover their heads, hold their hands or hold em close, giggle, yell, 1. 2. 3. and run for it! We’re all in a hurry from time to time, but if you can take the time to slow down and suck it up, forget about your wet hair a minute and look at your splashing toddlers face, it can be rather enjoyable. There’s nothing quite like watching a toddler learn and explore the wetness.. answer the questions, grab her hand and jump in that puddle too. No one likes an unhappy child or a soggy sandwich. But if there’s one thing I’ve learned from my kids it’s that my mood often determines theirs. Turn it around. Tired, bored and restless? Put on some boots and a jacket and take 10! A little rain never hurt anyone. Get the wiggles out then come back in, dry off, and put on a movie! Cherish the rainy days and puddle stomping. One day you’ll look back and remember those moments, they will too. Its the little things.

  2. you have to learn to dance in the puddles and go singing in the rain, unless it’s lightning and thundering. Then you grab the kids and run like crazy.

  3. I do love rainy days, when I don’t have to go out and do anything with the kids. Now if I have a doc appointment for one of them, or I’m in dire need of grocery staples, then I curse the storm clouds and rain. I really hate going out in the rain with kids. It’s messy, and wet and like yours, mine want to jump in every puddle. With or without rain boots.

    Rainy days suck. Sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

